“Everybody should be allowed admission to university or college programmes regardless of their level of academic ability”. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

There is no doubt that admission to a higher education is more competitive than it was back in the day. It is argued that people should have the same opportunity to apply for a university or college without considering their level of academic knowledge. Although I agree that everyone should be allowed to submit their application, academic ability should always be considered in the application. The importance of education for everyone is something that needs to be emphasized. By supporting open admissions, we could also emphasize the importance of equal opportunities and rights to education for all. Even though not everyone was born gifted and many individuals still need academic improvements, applying to high-quality universities or colleges could help them to develop and improve further. This would help them to have a lifelong learning, which could aid them in their future career. However, if this policy were to be applied completely, there are several drawbacks that might happen. Firstly, there is a potential decline in the overall academic performance of the students. For instance, Ivy League Universities are known to have the smartest students in the country, but if the new students are not up to their old standards, they might lose their title as the best in the country. This occurrence emphasizes the importance of academic standards to be applied in a university program. Another thing that might happen is the effect on the motivation of the students. They might not be as motivated to learn because of the new environment that is not too competitive. All in all, the policy might be an advantage for those with a lower academic ability, but there are several things that still need to be considered for this issue.