school should stop using books for teching children as they find them boring and use films TV and computer instead. to what extent do you agree with this ?

There has been much debate regarding the controversial topic of switching from books to technology in classrooms across the world. It can be said that the use of several mediums can be beneficial for students, but this does not negate the fact that pupils need to learn how to read and write with actual handheld texts. Therefore it is imperative that educational institutions keep using textbooks, workbooks and novels in the hopes of cultivating a love for the library and the handwritten novella. One reason books should be kept in the classroom is that reading and writing are necessary and crucial skills which must be developed in order to contribute to society. Surely it is common knowledge that individuals must follow along with plays and texts when reading in order to fully comprehend a story. It is also a brilliant way to see how far you have read into a plot and to look backwards on previous events that have happened in the tale. For example, a student reading Of Mice and Men may place value on this retelling due to the shortness in length. Movies and shows can definitely improve an English lesson with the help of visual storytelling, but they cannot replace the joy that comes from developing imagery or a character in one's mind - this is how a personal cinematic experience is created that cannot be replicated on the screen or stage. The film or mini series might also tell key scenes wrong or get the key players of a plot all wrong in terms of appearance or general demeanour. For example, the Harry Potter films are vastly different from J.K. Rowling's original children's books and bookworms feel very protective over the original script. Overall, it is clear that visual learning and mediums used in school can be beneficial, but they should never replace the art of reading along with a teacher during the school day. This develops a love of the written word, allows comprehension to flow and also improves inner creativity.