Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion!

Advertising has become an unavoidable part of our life. It has proved its significant position in some people's choice but at the same time, few others think that adverts are simply unnecessary as it has become so common. Personally, I agree with the first option because adverts have proven to have a strong influence on people's buying decisions. Some people believe that over-commercialization can lead to many problems and one of the most significant ones is the public started to lose interest. For instance, when we are scrolling through our social media applications such as Instagram, they are going to give us many adverts as business owners pay to put their ads on the app. Research conducted by Instagram itself about user's perception towards publicities shows that 80% of them feel that the majority of ads provided are not genuine and do not show the real quality of the product. It almost feels like the seller's sole purpose is only to reap more profits. Consequently, people tend to skip it as it only wastes their time. On the other side, a lot of people have said that commercials hold a crucial position in their lives. Before purchasing something, they are always basing their choice of product on ads, mainly on endorsement which is a type of soft-selling ads that are done by celebrities. Consumers perceived those types of ads as honest and a more thorough review so they can confidently give their full trust. For example, a well-known influencer on Instagram, namely Tasya Farasya has influenced a huge proportion of consumers to buy certain products. She also helps many local businesses by promoting the business via her social media and it indirectly sparks economic growth. To conclude, advertising has served a special position in today's society. However, customers should be more careful to see which one is genuine to be able to experience the positive impact of commercials.