Many parents choose to teach their children at home instead of sending them to school. Do you think the benefits of homeschooling outweigh its drawbacks?

Academic learning is not only limited to formal delivery at school. Many parents choose the alternative, which is homeschooling their child due to certain advantages that it might contain. In my opinion, the benefits of homeschooling can not outweigh its drawbacks that it might introduce. In order to fit into society, a student will need to learn basic social skills. Homeschooling approach is unable to provide this kind of learning due to the nature of it that does not involve social interaction between students. For instance, students that only learn in their home will fail to understand their broader social context, making it difficult for them to interact with strangers. If the traditional schooling is taken instead, they will develop social awareness and might even be motivated to contribute for society. Social skills are important part of learning and homeschooling might lack the ability to provide those. Homeschooling might also not follow the standardized curriculum and this might causing issue later on. One of the purpose of a curriculum is to have uniform academic measurements across the country. An example for this is when a homeschooling program differ from the standard material, the students will face some difficulties when it comes to completing national tests which they might take during their life. Altough, one could argue that national tests are irrelevant when you are homeschooled but then you will not have a good measurement to compare your academic skills. A curriculum is a great way to standardize teaching and academic measurements and not following this might cause some negative implications on the student. In conclusion, while parents might have their own reasons to homeschool their children, other factors should also be considered. Social learning and curriculum compliance are what homeschooling could be lacking of and this will prohibits the full essence of a student's academic journey.