Food travels thousands of miles from farmers to consumers. Some people think that it would be better for our environment and economy if people consumed locally produced foods. To what extent do the advantages of this would outweigh the disadvantages?

Thanks to modern technology and development in transportation facilities, shipment of food ingredients has become much easier. As some opine consuming domestic foods is more environment friendly in addition to being economical, I suppose this point of attitude goes a long way. On the one hand, some foods cannot be cultivated everywhere. Indeed, for cultivation of any kind of crops, three necessary factors are really necessary; fertilized soil, enough water and light. For instance, there are some difficult environments, like Africa, where people may suffer from starvation because of lack of precipitation and drought. This difficult environment poses a threat to mankind. So, by transporting foods and essential crops all around the world, Africans can have a comfortable accessibility to a wide variety of foods. On the other hand, locally agricultural products are more affordable. To clarify, in the process of transportation of food from some remote places several stages like storing and packaging must be followed properly. Otherwise, these materials may lose their nutritional values and being affected because of not appropriate wrapping. In order to handle aforementioned mechanism, a great amount of money should be spent. Consequently, the price will increase significantly. However, all of these extra costs can be eliminated provided that people consume locally produced foods. Moreover, so seriously has supporting small and medium size farmers financially affected some individuals’ attitude that they strongly believe purchasing fresh and natural ingredients from the local is a good approach to contribute in economic development and employment. In conclusion, although transportation of food may be vital for some regions because of geographical and climate reasons, I strongly believe that reasonable price of available crops cultivated locally and provide job opportunities for natives encourage us to place a high value on regional farmlands.