More and more people are leaving countryside to live in cities. Do more advantages or disadvantages of this development for environment

In this rapid development that is centralized in big cities, people who live in rural areas start to settle in metropolises to seek bigger opportunities. I believe this condition brings detrimental effects to our natural environment because it reduces green areas and contributes to global warming. To begin with, urbanization leads to deforestation. Since countryside people have moved to big cities, there are increasing demand for residential districts. The high demand for housing encourages developers to expand house construction and cut down trees to turn them into several urban districts. For example, there are some articles that say that in a mere decade, the expansion of urban areas in Indonesia has destructed thousands of acres of wilds. Another important point to consider is, that rapid urban growth contributes to global warming. To elaborate, an increasing number of gasoline cars release harmful by-products, such as carbon monoxide, into our atmosphere and produce greenhouse which warms the earth's atmosphere by absorbing sunlight. In fact, vehicle emissions are not alone. There are several primary sources of human-made air pollution such as fuel oils and natural gas to heat homes, by-products of manufacturing and power generation, particularly coal-fueled power plants that also contribute to warming the earth. In conclusion, as the rural-to-urban shift becomes more popular, I believe it negatively impacts the environment by increasing deforestation and producing gas emission which leads to global warming.