University education should be free to everyone, regardless of income. To what extent do you agree?

Higher education offers prestigious degrees that would increase chances of obtaining better compensation. It affords one to getting promoted easily or securing a job with great salaries and benefits and its also a great testament of one's competence. Due to this, proponents state that it should be free and accessible to all regardless of one's economic status. In my view, I disagree with it being free due to a number of reasons. Tertiary education is a prestige that needs to be earned. Courses in these level are highly technical and requires competent professional teachers to dedicate time and effort to review and teach their material to the enrollees of these subjects. Fees for higher education reduces the field to be completely saturated thus giving value and relevance to the field. The fees will filter out those who are willing to sacrifice time, money, and effort to finish the course. For instance, doctorate courses will only allow students who worked those who burned. Due to the economic benefits it brings to the graduates of this degree, it permits a limited number of people to be able to access this degree. Higher education is not a right that needs to be given to everyone hence it should maintain its exclusivity by imposing relevant fees. This exclusivity is only catered to those who are willing to go through a different level of sacrifice.