Some people think that dangerous sports should be banned, while others think people should have freedom to choose the activities they want to do. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is widely believed that some sports can be risky for sportspersons and thus, should be outlawed. Whereas others believe that there should be open opportunities for choosing any activity they want to participate in. In my opinion, although some sports could be detrimental to health, overall they benefit individuals in various ways. A growing body of research suggests that giving liberty to individuals can have a positive effect on their overall health. One key benefit is that high-risk activities played with autonomy help to engage in activities they enjoy, regardless of the risk. This can lead to personal satisfaction and be beneficial in terms of the development of physical and mental levels. Mountain climbing, take an example, a person who has dreamt of this adventurous activity and completed it one day would be more satisfied rather than regretting not doing it for his whole life. However, there are also negative impacts which must be considered. One important issue is that dangerous sports pose significant risks to participants, potentially leading to severe injury or even death. Therefore, banning dangerous sports can be seen as protecting individuals from harm and reducing the burden on medical services. For instance, recent news from the USA is evident that 50% of saved money has been spent on treatments for injuries that happened due to harmful activities. However, with proper safety measures, one can achieve his goals related to these types of sports. In conclusion, while risk-taking sports can be advantageous in terms of physical and mental growth, they can also threaten individuals with high injury rates. In my opinion, despite having some negative effects, I believe dangerous sports are generally beneficial to gain personal satisfaction as well as making a person fit on both levels if appropriate safety precautions are being taken.