There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

This essay discusses my opinion on the statement that nowadays young people get a lot of pressure to be successful in academics resulting in some people believing that non-academic subjects should be removed from the syllabus of their study. From a personal point of view, I strongly disagree with the statement and here I will elaborate on the reason in some detail. Young people have to learn many things to be able to survive their adulthood which requires a lot of skills such as finding a good job, preparing food for themselves or their family, travelling to many different places with different local customs, staying healthy, working in a team, negotiating with people with contrast perspective, dealing with bureaucracy, managing their finance and many more. The list is actually quite long arguably. And these all are things that they eventually need to understand and solve in their future life. So non-academic subjects such as physical education, cookery, and organisational-related soft skills are really necessary. From personal experience during high school, I witnessed some students who were only focused on academic subjects throughout their entire study because they had to pass the national exams and were limited by school regulations to do other extracurricular activities. Those students, when now they eventually reach adulthood, are struggling to manage the reality of adulthood. But on the other hand, I also understand that it is really not a simple task to program a suitable study plan which will fit all ranges of student's personalities and their future aspirations. So in a nutshell, I personally disagree with the statement that young people only need to concentrate on academic work and have no need to get any experience at all from extracurricular activities which are not linked to any academic subject. I believe that they will benefit from those. But of course, a suitable study plan must be programmed for them so they will not be too tired to study after all.