The availability of entertainment such as video games on handheld devices are harmful to individuals and to the society, they live in. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people argue that easy access to entertainment on personal gadgets is dangerous for individuals and their communities. I completely agree with this view and believe that it has harmful consequences on the lifestyle, mental well-being of a person, and communication skills in a society. One reason to support this argument is that it disrupts one’s daily routine. For example, my nephew plays various video games on his phone until late at night, which has led to a disturbance of his sleep pattern and a significant reduction in his academic productivity. Additionally, if people engage in entertainment during school and work hours, they will lack time to achieve their goals. In other words, their mental health may be affected, causing conditions such as anxiety, stress and aggression over time. Furthermore, these unhealthy behaviours that are a result of excessive engagement can also contribute to enhancing the rate of crimes and violence levels to some extent in their communities. Another reason for my agreement with this view is the reduction of social interaction. For instance, playing on their own with their phone becomes a habit over time for children, and eventually, they tend to play less with their friends than before. These individuals prefer spending time with their devices and are interested in pursuing competitions to win in virtual space. Nevertheless, it can be seen in family or friendly gatherings that close relationships are fading, and people become more distant from each other. On the other hand, some may disagree with this opinion, because they think that virtual activities offer an opportunity to learn new things and broaden perspectives, increasing creativity. However, I believe that this would involve unlimited time, and unfortunately, people would have to neglect other aspects of their duties at workplaces, schools, life, and society. Therefore, facilitating access to such entertainment should be limited to promote a more fulfilling lifestyle. In conclusion, I completely feel that facilitating access to electronic forms of entertainment has negative effects on personal and social life. These can change one’s life plans, lead to unhealthy behaviour, and reduce social relationships. So, using of virtual program requires a certain time and place.