In some cultures, children are often told that they can acheive anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In general, adults encourage children to pursue their dream emphasizing the importance of effort to succeed. However, this encouragement has its both sides, positive or negative. This essay will examine the pros and cons of telling children that trying hard can secure a success and my opinion before a conclusion. First of all, by telling children that hard work always pays off can allow children feel confident, so that they are more likely to accomplish more. Many researches on self-confidence demonstrated that children who have positive thinking about their future could focus more on their tasks, and as a result, the possibility of success increased. Moreover, by teaching importance of effort, children can learn integrity and work ethics. Offsprings will take more ethical ways to succeed, not cheat on to achieve goals. However, just emphasizing endeavor might make children avoid the reality. Sometimes there is a time for individuals to quit what they have prepared for a long time becuase of the problems of real world, such as money, lack of ability, or unfortune events. However, if folks immersed with the feeling that "as I was taught earlier, if I make more effort to achieve this, then I can succeed", this can lead to vicious cycle. Therefore, telling constantly to children that the only condition for ahievement is trying hard can give them wrong perception to accomplishment. To sum up, teaching children the importance of endeavor is beneficial for children's confidence, while it can make young students obsessed with the goals that seems to be nearly impossible to achieve. I think on balance that before they enter to society, it is important to give them confidence by telling them " you can do everyting if you try hard." This sense of efficacy will give children energy to try again if they fall down.