Some people prefer to be self-employed, whereas others like working for companies or institutions. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of both approaches. Which do you think is a better approach?

Working is a part of the every-day adult life: some work for big companies and institutions, while others have the possibility to be self-employed. Evidently, both types of employment have its benefits and its drawbacks, which I am going to examine in the following paragraphs. From personal experience though, I believe working with others holds more positives. Let's start with the more "traditional" route, which is working in a hierarchical structure. One of the most apparent benefits, is the possibility of moving up the ladder. If you are hard-working, bosses eventually reward your activities by promotion. Thus, eventually, you might be able to reach new hights. Another benefit we could mention is the monetary steadiness these kinds of jobs provide. Being hired at a prestigious office means you do not only get paid your montly salary, but also bonuses. Hence, there are many other benefits other than a fixed income. Being self-employed hold several vantages as well, the first being freedom. Having no bosses means you can do and schedule your work as you wish. This obviously results in having more free-time and causes overall less stress. Another positive aspect is that you do not have to deal with other people, as you have no collegues. This causes intense focus. Now let us move on to the disadvantages. Working for a company, employees have to stay in the office from 9 to 5 and sometimes must work over-time resulting in exhaustion. This is something that is often expected from workers and is not always rewarded. Another negative might be the fact that you are surrounded by collegues. You might not always get along with all of the individuals, which could lead to awkward week-days. The drawback of self-employment is feeling helpless. If you have no one else to count on, but yourself, everything falls onto you, which can result in immense pressure. I personally believe there is no way saying one approach is better than the other. Everyone is so different, that some thrive in an office setting, while others do better if they are their own employer. From personal experience however, I believe working for a firm is overall better.