Shopping is now one of the most popular forms of leisure activity in many countries for young adults. What do you think is the reason for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Today, online shopping is the most popular way to refresh the minds of young people aged 18 to 26 in many ASEAN countries. This essay claims that engaging way in online selling is essential to make young adults shop from e-commerce, and I think it leads to a negative development since this technological development can make younger people spend a lot of money rather than just buying their necessities. In Indonesia, we have several online platforms that offer a simple way to purchase young adults’ wishlists, for example, Shopee and Tiktok. They provide an attractive shop window of products and sometimes do live shopping to suggest the product description and young adult consumers can ask some questions related. For example, TikTok Live can show the display of the real products in use that the users can enjoy for a long duration. That appeal will influence younger people to gain more interest in the products and check out straight afterward from their account. According to many e-commerce platforms that Indonesia has, it is undeniable that can have bad consequences for the young adult to increase their spending habit. Attractive online selling can persuade users to impulse buy trivial things that they don’t really need, supported by massive promotions during live sales. That situation can make customers shop until drop and it can be bad for their financials. For example, shopee live selling offers promotions and discounts during the live sessions, attracting customers to buy stuff at the moment as live happens. It can be a bad habit that can affect many serious aspects later in the younger generation’s future. In conclusion, the rising way of online shopping happens through massive live selling at e-commerce and the worsening development of these popular ways is it can lead younger generation to spend a lot of money than it should be.