In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasize that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In the contemporary world, the main emphasis of business advertising is put on the newness of the product in the market as opposed to other similar products. In this essay, I will discuss, what are the reasons for this occurrence and also whether it is a positive or negative development. First and foremost, such a way of advertising emerged on the notion that people tend to choose so-called goods on their characteristics, such as modernity and cutting-edge technologies. Therefore, this chases only monetary and cynical goals to benefit from the weaknesses of people and this can be interpreted as a negative development. As a result, many businesses take the advantage of this by labeling everything they manufacture as new and cutting-edge, consequently, some gullible individuals can be misled by these commercial claims into consequent buying. For instance, most smartphone-producing companies use the flawed definition of the word 'new' in their advertising campaigns. On the other hand, this practice can be interpreted as a positive development due to sneaky connotation of this, many people will get used to gimmick practices of the advertisement industry. Therefore, they will be hardened to distinguish the difference between a gimmick and genuine technologies by previously used tricks, which further strengthen already existing scepticism towards international corporations. For example, similar gimmick adverts existed in the early 1990-es to profit from naive viewers, which resulted in long-term low sales after buyers lost trust. To conclude, although this advertisement technique is widely used owing to the exploiting nature of people's feelings, this can be interpreted as both a negative and positive development. Nevertheless, this is in some way is helpful, in my opinion, as it raises awareness among the masses about it.