Littering in cities is an increasing problem which needs to be dealt with. Some people think that steeper fines is the best way to deal with the problem. To what extent do you agree?

Today the problem of littering in the urban areas is growing and forces authorities to find some decision for solving it. When numerous individuals think that the best solution to manage this problem is to increase the fines, I am convinced that the solution should be a complex one. In this essay, I am planning to spotlight some aspects of this. Firstly, it should be taken into account that higher fines could be not affordable for everyone and, consequently, could lead to some disbalance in a society such as disproportional affection to lower-income individuals. As an alternative solution it could be an improved system of community services as a penalty such as cleaning yards, streets, painting fences and so long. In addition, maybe authorities should spend more funds to putting more bins, enlargening recycling system. Another way to take steps forward in fixig this issue is the role of education in foresting a culture of responsibility towards the environment. For example, if a person is tought thought from its very childhood that throwing candy papers on the street is a wrong behavior, he will remember this for the rest of his life. In conclusion, increasing fines to solve the littering problem could be replaced by some complex system such as community works, an increased number of bins, improving recycling system and making essentional part in educational system, and making individuals more responsible toward the surrounding.