In recent years, there has been a rise in the use of performance-enhancing drugs in sports, What are the consequences of doping for athletes? What measures should be taken to combat this issue?

The canker of performance-enhancing drugs in sports has become widespread and difficult to curb, threatening to destroy the beauty of modern competitions. The advancement and improvement of science have led to the development of steroids, which are difficult to identify in most labs. This essay will discuss the consequences of doping and outline measure that should be taken to combat it. Firstly, widespread use of steroids over a significant period of time could increase the risk of stroke, heart attack or failure. Furthermore, these banned substances enable the heart to pump blood faster than usual, increasing the risk of a cardiac arrest. Lastly, prolonged use of anabolic steroids, in some cases has led to the loss of hair and baldness in men. Some of the measures that can be employed to combat the issue of doping include, outright ban from the said sporting activity. Athletes that have been identified to have taken the banned substances should be named and shamed in the sporting fraternity. Additionally, there should be unplanned periodic testing of sports professionals. This way, they will be conscious of what they do and the kind of substances they take into the body. In conclusion, it will require the collective effort of all players in the sports fraternity to ensure that the sanctity of the games is preserved. This would be achieved enforcing the adoption of rules and regulations set by the anti-doping authority. This way, the widespread acceptance and competitive nature of competitions can be conserved.