Some people think that sport is very important for society. Others, however, argue that it is nothing more than a leisure activity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.(重复2011 年老题)

While it is widely claimed that sport is just a free time activity, some argue that sport is more than an activity and it is significant for a community. Both points of view and the reason why I believe that sport is not just a leisure activity will be elaborated on this essay. To begin with, it might seem sensible for some to believe that sport is a usual activity. This is possibly because sport is a thing you do to release your stress, for example, some people usually go to a park after they work to do exercise and nothing more than that. On the other hand, opponents of this idea might propose that sport is crucial for society at large. To put in other words, they consider that sports are beneficial to the economy of a nation, for example, in the sports industry, sports goods are sold, which increases the GDP of a nation. In conclusion, although it is undeniable that people think sport is nothing more than a hobby. I am of the opinion that sport is important for every country, especially in economics.