Some people say that advertising is extremely succesfull at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people believe that advertising is very effective at influencing consumers' buying decisions, while others claim that it is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Although the internet has made advertising more common than ever before, I think it is still a powerful source of influence, which can affect people's desires. On the one hand, some might argue that our day-to-day life is not separable from the advertisement because the internet has become an essential part of our lives. Media platforms feed us with a tremendous amount of this, so much so that we have gotten used to it. Apart from that, celebrities constantly advertise products in their promotional videos, in these cases, people just skip it and try to avoid spending time on it. As a result, most internet users became numb to it. However, I strongly disagree with this view because if this was ineffective in some way, big corporations would not spend a horrendous amount of money on it. On the other hand, it is widely known that advertisers use various tricks to plant seeds in consumers' minds. One such trick is the advertisement in movies, where a commercial product is shown in a movie in the beginning and in the ending to put the right narrative in viewers' unconscious minds. Another example is luxury brands that were able to impose the idea that their chic clothing represents wealth and status. Hence, many individuals often associate well-known goods with something like Coca Cola is mostly associated with Christmas. Therefore, we as a society should realize the impact of advertising to minimize its influence. To conclude, considering both previously mentioned views, I tend to think that everyone should have an understanding of the basic advertisement and the way advertisers manipulate our opinions.