The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing. Do you agree or disagree?

In an era characterized by advanced social networks and delivery technologies, electronic commerce has emerged incredibly. Some voices caution against the rapid growth of e-commerce has the potential to take the place of physical shops. This essay vehemently opposes such assertions. Rather, it contends that trust problems in online shops and socializing through shopping in physical locations never stop people’s in-store demand. The first reason why shopping venues will be forever stems from that individuals can not totally trust Internet shopping. Some product types, especially technological devices, are required to be touched with hands and to be seen with eyes by customers in order to ensure the product can be used and does not have any problems. However, a buyer’s abilities online are restricted, he or she can only see a product’s images and its reviews. According to a Harvard study, the conversion rate in physical locations is ten per cent more compared to online, because of the trust that a customer has Meeting humans’ social needs is another cornerstone for preventing e- shops from gaining all of the market share. Shopping is not only a purchasing behaviour but also an activity in that people socialize with others. Shops are great places for asking others’ opinions and making small talk. Thus, this feature of shopping serves as a vehicle for communication and socializing, mostly for those who struggle to interact. Recent research shows there are two major groups that identify themselves as a shopping addict. The first group is which suffers from fear of missing out, and the second group of people who are lonely but feel better in shops thanks to communicating with human beings. To sum up, physical shops act as a catalyst for getting into interactions and assist consumers to make sure the product is appropriate. Therefore, the benefits of in-place shopping make impossible the claims of online shops ’ supremacy.