Social media enable people to keep in touch with each other and learn about news events. Do advantages outweigh disadvantages?

Social media is able to make every person still communication with others, and it is media to study about news events. This essay critically elaborates that these merits of using social media numerous rather than demerit. On the one hand, one significant benefit of someone using social media makes someone easy to still interact with other people in spite of the long distance. They are able to communicate without going to some places and spending a lot of money. For instance, children who are working or studying abroad can call their parents to give the information of their condition so that their families do not worry because the family knows the situation of their children. Secondly, another notable is each people easy to obtain some information of events. They are able to know the new and trending news that make them not left behind some events. Instagram, TikTok and Facebook are the best example of some social medias that can be utilized to acquire some information, and nay, these applications can also give the knowledge. On the other hand, there is a disadvantage of using social media that it can make someone who settles near from them felt so far. Social media creates people becoming lazy to interact face to face, and they prefer communication with another person through that tool. For example, nowadays, many youngsters call their mother via one of social medias a such WhatsApp even if that time they are in the one home. To conclude, there are some advantages from using social media such as easier to communicate with other who leave in distant place and easy to gain some information. However, it also brings a detriment namely making people who are close becoming distant.