Write about the following topic: Unhealthy eating has a negative effect on both individuals and the society in which they live. Some people think that the government should tax unhealthy foods while others believe that a ‘fat tax’ is unfair and unnecessary. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In our contemporary era, more and more people consume unhealthy food without any self-control. This phenomenon brings negative impacts to both individuals and the society. To be able to resolve this issue more effectively, some think that the government should tax unhealthy food, but some opine that it is unjust and not essential. This essay will examine both views and weighs up its merits. On one hand, we live in a world where we get to enjoy our freedom. We should have the rights to do and eat everything we love. If the 'fat tax ' is imposed, it will mean that certain food will be more expensive. Some people might not be able to enjoy their favourite food as frequent as they used to due to budget contraints. However, it might not have much impact for the rich. Some people therefore think that imposing 'fat tax ' is unjust and unnecessary. On the other hand, it is undeniable that tax is one of the most effective ways to resolve this issue as individual can feel the immediate effect. They will think twice before they purchase the unhealthy food because it is more expensive than the healthy food. Although the rich might not be affected directly but they are likely to change their diet style too if their cycle of friends change theirs. For example, if their friends decided not to dine at McDonald because of their price, the rich will have to follow the crowd too. The governmnet can also organise health campaigns, but the truth is it will not be as effective as imposing 'fat tax ', as the public generally will not 'feel the pain until the fire is near'. Therefore, my view is that imposing tax is the most effective way to prevent illness like obesity, high cholesterol, stoke and other life-threatening diseases. These diseases will turn out to be an enourmous burden to the health care system.