In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Does this trend have positive or negative effects on society?

The ageing population is a focal point of contemporary societal discussions. While elderly people could contribute to society to some extent, I would advocate that this demographic transformation could prompt a variety of social issues. One problem associated with population ageing is that healthcare spending may escalate dramatically, which imposes a heavier burden on individuals. Older people are prone to health problems such as heart disease, Alzheimer’s, and Parkinson’s; therefore, a country with a large proportion of elderly people has to increase its expenditure on medical services. As the government allocates funds to construct quality medical care systems to meet such rising demands, budgets for other essential facilities, such as education, scientific research and infrastructure projects, may face reduction. As a result, this might adversely affect a society not solely in the living standards but also in long-term economic prosperity. Another problem is that the productivity of the whole society would decline as the number of workers aged 65 and above grows. An ageing society normally has to raise the pension eligibility age to keep the pension scheme running, thus it is not unusual for senior citizens to stay in the workforce even in their 60s. These people, however, possibly struggle with cognitive impairment and other conditions which could impede their ability to process information and carry out work tasks. If they delay retirement, their poor performance may have an adverse impact on companies’ productivity and profitability. This can exacerbate the economic problem mentioned earlier and undesirably influence social progress. On the other hand, it is possible that societies can tap into the wisdom and experience of the senior generation. Having worked for decades, they have become experts in their respective fields and possess a wealth of practical experience, specialist knowledge and work-related tips that they can share with younger generations. Senior business managers, for example, often guide young people on how to manage a company and deal with complaints as well as queries of clients, while veteran researchers can impart their knowledge to young scientists on how to oversee and execute projects. This transfer of knowledge would not take place unless individuals have a prolonged lifespan to retain their posts. In conclusion, a rapidly ageing population could impose a severe strain on the medical system and reduce the productivity of a country. These social issues may have a detrimental effect on economic progress, although sometimes the wisdom of an ageing community can yield benefits for society.