“Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?”

Intro: Question, benefit, detriment, opinion Body 1: Benefit: Protection, criminal activities >> Real life case related to terrorism Body 2: Negative: Privacy >> For instance blackmail/threatened, speech Conclusion: Disadvantage outweigh advantage It is considered that the technological advance has provide us with many features, one of them is to track what people saying and doing. While many has argued that it has positive aspect, there is a detriment that should be highligted. I personally disagree that this feature in general could help the society. The proponent of monitoring human activities mainly support the idea that this feature is to provide safety within the community. Through looking at a suspected terrorist's cellphone, the police can check the person's activity and thus could prevent any dangerous outcome. The real life case occurred a few years ago when Indonesia's authorities captured a potential suicide bomber which save numerous of lives. On the other hand, this feature could also be a breach of privacy. By tracking a person's gadget, an individual could find his secret and used it to blackmail him. This case tend to be used in authoritarian countries, where the police were enabled to find the person and threatened him so he would not criticize government. For instance, in Iran, the government prevented several social media accounts to be seens so these groups nor individuals could voice their concern. In conclusion, while overseeing the citizens through electronic devices can be beneficial to protect the community, it is a shame that this situation could also take people's freedom as their privacy is in the wrong hand. Thus, the advantage outweigh the disadvantage.