Today food travel thousand of mile from farmers to consumers. Why is it so? It is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays the phenomenon of the food trade is becoming a heated debate in which people can try food from other places of the world which in my view can be a plus which I want to explain throughout this essay. In the realm of the economy and due to the geographical situation some ground is not suitable for some plant so the native ones have to import that special type of food from other places. For example, Iran is a dry land so it would be a perfect plan to bring our needs in the field of agriculture from other countries; otherwise, we may face significant trouble,like drought, deforestation and air pollution. From a social standpoint by limiting agriculture people will start to plan to have a better job than becoming a farmer so it would be a perfect governmental policy to make the citizen start a more profitable careers and make job opportunities,inasmuch as barely can people live a pleasant life by just working on the ground so it would be an excellent plan to import food from other places in order try not to be dependent to agriculture. In conclusion, on the one hand for preventing our land from deforestation and lots of other problems and also on the other hand, lots of job opportunity will appear.