Some people spend most of their lives living close to where they were born. What might be the reasons for this? What are the advantages and disadvantages?

Nowadays, there are some people, who prefer to spend their lives not far from their birthplaces. In this essay, I am going to consider the reasons for this phenomenon and explore its pros and cons. The causes of this trend are very different. The main of them is that there are a lot of poor people, who do not have any funds. In other words, they cannot cover their basic needs. Thus, they do not have a possibility to travel and change place of their residence. The second reason is that some individuals have strong dependency from their relatives and friends. For example, the older part of the family may help the young family to look after the children. If they leave their hometown, someone will have to stay with the children instead of work or hire a babysitter, that adds additional expenses to their budget. There are some benefits in living in one place. The most significant of them is that while staying in one place, you do not need to waste time exploring new places, looking for new friends and adapting to new conditions such as different cuisines, languages, neighbourhood or laws. For example, for muslim women can be shocked by the ban on wearing traditional attire covering their faces in public places. However, there are some drawbacks. One of them is that individuals can be limited in career opportunities in case their company headquarters are in another city. As a result, they may be underpaid and miss certain benefits. To conclude, the decision of living in one place is caused by a scarcity of resources or by strong connections to their immediate family. While it has some advantages, likely not wasting time on discovering the new environment, it also has disadvantages such as slow career growth.