In the age of digital communication and social media, face-to-face interactions are becoming less common. Some people think that this is decreasing people’s ability to communicate well in person. Do you agree or disagree with this view?

Nowadays, with the trend of digitalization and social networks, virtual communication has become more rampant and as a result lessening the frequency of person-to-person exchange. Some people believe that this phenomenon is lessening our ability to have a proper communication in real life. Personally, I have to agree with this presumption because the existence of online communication makes it easier for us to hide behind our made-up persona. Moreover, the contemporary way of communication has also made us to be desensitized to our surroundings. The widespread use of digital exchange means reducing our chance to practice proper communication techniques in our day-to-day life and therefore our body language is not honed to be inviting to our speaking partner. Consequently, it would be harder for us to have a genuine eye contact or notice nonverbal cues from our interlocutors. As a result of this, people have poor communication skills and may feel awkward when they are being faced with real- lifelife communication Additionally, even though the advancement of technology has made it seamless for us to communicate effectively long distance wise, it also presents us with a paradox. Instead of building a stronger relationship with those around us, we would rather put a higher priority to persons whom we connect through social media. We have been becoming less sensitive with our community as there is simply no urgency for us to express our care towards them since building connections digitally is easier and oftentimes more manageable than if we were to put those efforts towards a real, genuine, person-to-person connection. In conclusion, I can attest that the new way of communication has been decreasing our ability to have a proper communication. Even though we are blessed to have many available alternatives to connect with our far loved ones effortlessly, this new way of living should not hinder us from living a genuine connection in real life