The only way to improve safety on our roads is to give much stricter punishments for driving offences. What extent do you agree or disagree?

Today road accidents are increasing due to careless driving or disobeying rules imposed by governments.Some argue that implementing strict punishments and imprisonments will be the only way to reduce offences commited by drivers.I disagree about this phenomenon even if imposing punishments for driving offences can act as a better solution for offences but other alternatives may also be implemented to adress this issue effectively. Firstly, imposing rigid rules on driving offences would reduce accidents on roads.In fact, it can be noticeable that many accidents cause due to careless and drunk driving wheareas many pedestrians will suffer serious damages sometimes lead deaths. Therefore, imposing srtict punishments would curb such offences such as imposing high fines and imprisonments for drivers. For example, Norway is the country who has the most strict punishments for such offences and whom has the lowest death rates based on road accidents. On the other hand its obvious that stict rules can curb the situation, but it would not be the only method to improve the safety.Governments can improve awareness programs to keep people informed about rules that need to be followed on the road. In contrast, governments can start awreness programs in schools and urbanised cities as it would help students and general public to learn road rules and consequences of commiting offences. However, aforemnetioned activities will also enhance road safety. In conclusion, Although strict punishmnets punishment like high fines and imprisonment would improve road safety, it would not be the only solution for address this effectively. Politician and media coverages should also come into practice to aware children and general public about road safety.