The growing number of overweight people is putting a strain on healthcare system in an effort to deal with the health issue involved. Some people think the best way to deal with this problem is to introduce more physical educational lessons in the school curriculum. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The quality of healthcare services provided by the government and the effectiveness of health-related budgeting expenses has always been a topic for agruments argument. These discussions grow louder as the number of overweight people is increasingly growing. While negatively impacting individual's health, it is also putting a strain on the whole healthcare system. Adding more physical educational lessons in schools may be one way to reduce the severity of the problem. Overall, it is a good idea to invest into the younger generation. Introducing more lessons which influence physical development of pupils may have a positive effect not only in the immediate future, but years after it had been implemented in schools. This is due to the fact that after graduating young people often continue doing sports even in the absence of formal lessons. On the other hand, adding more physical education lessons might increase the stress on children. With tight schedules and a range of out of school activities that many pupils attend they have less and less time to recover and prepare for next day. Constant lack of free personal time and decreased productivity in academic subjects may be the price to pay for extra lessons. Also one should consider that the bulk of overweight population consists of adults over 30 years old. And so to tackle the problem of limited healthare health are budgets, government efforts should mainly focus on stimulating sports and fitness activitites within this other large slice of population. To sum up, I believe that increasing the number of physical education lessons has more drawbacks than advantages. With limited budgets I am sure that the primary approach to having a healthy population is investing in sport activities for adults.