The most important aim of science should be to improve people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Scientific research ’s purposes should bring benefit for the people living in societies. I believe that public research should bring back value to the communities who invested in it, but private research could aim for more profit orientation. Firstly, researches which funded by the government are funded by the tax. The tax was collected from societies. So, scientists should have an obligation to give back contributions to the people who provide them support. In addition, the aims of their research should give improvement to communities. For instance, the experimentation on medicine could bring health improvement, or the study of new learning methodologies could give advantage in education. While the scientific research done by private companies could be more flexible. Since the investment is done by investors, the research would likely aim to gain profit. They have an obligation to the people who give them funds. The research done by private companies doesn’t have duties to give back to communities, but they could bring forward improvement in people's lives indirectly. Although the benefits from private research are minimal, because people have to pay for that, it could still bring forward the advancement in societies. For example, the advancement in mobile phones could bring conveniences for the people who could afford it. In conclusion, the purpose of the research is different for each party, since they have contrasting reasons to give back. Lastly, I agree with the aim of science should bring benefit to community, because the scientists are also part of it. They could give back their contributions directly or indirectly.