More and more people today expect to get what they want instantly (goods, services, news), without having to wait. Why is this ? Do you think this a positive or negative development?

In a fast-paced and technological era, the demand for instant gratification has reached unprecedented levels. Goods, services and news can all be accessed instantly, satisfying the innate desire for immediate results. And it has been a subject of debate. From my perspective, I believe that it is a negative trend for several reasons. An increasing number of people are getting used to attaining things as fast as possible for many reasons. Firstly, online platforms and apps offer the convenience of obtaining necessities with minimal effort and time. For example, some products that may have been impossible in certain periods of the year, are accessible now, even though have been delivered to the doorsteps of customers. Secondly, today instant approach to news allows people to be aware of global events. this can engender awareness and empathy among individuals. Furthermore, I tend to see a negative shade. The emphasis on instant gratification can lead to a reduction in patience and perseverance. If people get what they want immediately, they can hardly appreciate it. In addition, easy access to goods can foster impulsive purchasing behaviour. This can cause environmental degradation. Apart from this, shallow engagements, where people skim through headlines without delving deeper into complex issues, are due to immediate access to news and information. This can result of critical thinling and in-depth understanding of important matters. In conclusion, easy access leads people to instant contentment, whereas I think that it is a negative trend as it can lead to degradation of the environment and impatience.