Do you agree that the use of bioplastics is a crucial step towards reducing plastic pollution?

Plastic is the third most common derivative of petroleum in the world, each year, 200 million tons of plastic are consumed in the planet, and it is contaminating and non-biodegradable. As the problem continues to rise, we have figured out some plastic alternatives, such as bioplastics, some argue that they are a crucial step towards reducing plastic pollution and I completely agree, as they reduce carbon footprint, they are 100% biodegradable and dont change the flavor in the contained food. Bioplastics are a key when reducing plastic pollution, to illustrate, plastic is made of materials like cellulose, coal, natural gas, salt and crude oil, in contrast, bioplastics are made up from natural pollymers or potato and corn starch waste, as a consequence, they reduce carbon footprint, they are 100% biodegradable and are equally resistant and versatile as plastic. Furthermore, when food is stored on a plastic container of low quality for a long time, the plastic will drop microplastics, that change the flavour of our food and free BPA's that can cause breast and ovarian cancer, unlike, bioplastics, that are not harmful to the health and do not change the food's flavor. To conclude plastic is just not sustainable anymore, as it is non-biodegradable and contaminates the planet, nonetheless, we have developed some alternatives like bioplastics, which are 100% biodegradable, dont harm your health and reduce carbon footprint.