More and more wild animals are on the verge of extinction and others are on the endangered list.  What are the reasons for this? What can be done to solve these problems?

The extinction and endangerment of wild animals is an urgent issue. There are many reasons for this state of affairs. In this essay I will suggest solutions for the problem of the destruction of habitat due to illegal logging, and hunting of highly valuable wild animals. A major factor leading to the extinction of wild animals is the destruction of habitat due to illegal logging. Many countries designate large areas as national parks; however, illegal loggers destroy these areas to obtain rare woods. Due to this, numerous species of wild animals are losing their habitat. The orangutan, found in Indonesia and Malaysia, is a prime example of an animal being pushed to extinction because of this. The way forward could be that the state should greatly enhance fines and toughen penalties. In turn, this will help to increase funding for the forest department. The second factor that leads to the extinction and endangerment of wild animals is the poaching of valuable and rare species of animals and trading of their parts. The illegal wildlife market is a multi-billion euro industry so for this reason many cartels profit from illegitimate trade. For instance, the value of Rhino Horns on the black market is leading to significant extirpation of the species. To tackle this issue, more money should be spent on recruiting and training forest rangers which duty is to protect natural zones. However, this solution will be useless until the corrupt government officers involved in the trade of rare wild animals are prosecuted by law, and they are punished with prison terms and huge penalties. In conclusion, two major threats to rare wild animals due to illegal logging and poaching. Both of these problems can be solved by allocating government funds and introducing more effective methods of catching lawbreakers.