The older generations tend to have very traditional ideas about how people should live, think and behave. However, some people believe that these ideas are not helpful in preparing younger generations for modern life. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

Older family members use to have a different point of view of today’s lifestyle. Consequently, some people think that this way of thinking does not help to prepare new generations for modern life. This essay totally agrees with that statement. I believe that kids may get used to traditional ideas if their parents think that way as a result of discrimination against other kids that do think with another point of view. Also kids have to be prepared for professional life and may have modern ideas for success. Old generations believe in different things than younger ones. Firstly, if children get used to those traditional ideas, they may not like new ways of thinking and could even discriminate against other boys or girls that do agree with modern thoughts. For example, last year in my school they kicked out a child for bullying another for being gay. This would not have arrived if parents taught children to accept it. On the other hand, this is also a problem because if children have closed minds they will not succeed in professional life. They have to accept today’s ideas to please the customers and be good workers. For instance, if someone works in marketing, they may try to sell the products and for these they have to please the customer, something difficult if they have a closed mind. To conclude, it is important that young generations get used to new ideas even if they do not agree with them, this could help them to learn to live with other people, of different religions, countries and maybe homosexual, transgender … citizens. So parents should teach their children to accept every way of thinking.