Sugary drinks should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that drinks with a lot of sugar should be priced higher to reduce people's glucose intake. This essay agrees with this statement because of the risk of consuming a high amount of sugar and that hiking the price up would promote a better global health for all. Consuming too much glucose, one of them in the form of beverages, can have many short term and even long term health risks. As an example, consuming too much sugar can lead to headache and the body feeling sluggish because our body cannot digest all the sugar that comes into the body. Not only the short term risks, long term ones such a diabetes is a very prevalent risk that people need to be aware of. A recent health census showed that the number of people with diabetes rises dramatically over the past few years, and this is directly impacted by a high consumption of glucose. Reducing the price of these beverages would lead to less people buying them. These drinks are usually priced very low, with them costing as low as IDR 2.000 in Indonesia. To put it into perspective, IDR 2.000 is equal to around 20 cents in US dollars. A lot of people drink these kind of beverages because they are cheap and they tasted good, unaware of the health risks that it brings. Putting a minimum price policy would prevent the people who buy these drinks just because the drinks are cheap to buy them. A similar rule is placed on cigarettes, which is also a consumable with great health risks. In conclusion, I agree that a higher price for beverages with a lot of sugar should be given because of the health risks that it brings and that similar ways of promoting better global health has been proven to be successful.