Some cities have few control over design and construction on housing and office buildings. People think that they are free to choose the design they like. Do you think the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

In recent years, controlling residents’ infrastructures has been a heated debate. While allowing the citizens to exercise greater control over the construction of houses and working spaces has a number of benefits, there are also a few significant drawbacks that have to be considered. From my perspective, I believe that its positive aspects outweigh the negative ones. On the one hand, little control over housing or working places has a couple of advantages. One of those is that individuality and self-expression are promoted. This permission allows owners can freely select their favored colors, patterns, materials and so forth. This can result in people’s satisfaction and their sense of comfort. Furthermore, being creative on buildings can generate the diversity of the areas. Due to the fact that people’s preferences vary greatly, none of the construction would look alike. By hence, urban aesthetic can be enhanced and may become a touristy destination. Nevertheless, this permission could be a two-edged sword. Erecting infrastructures with too little control may affect the consistency and coherence of the surrounding landscape. Taking Hoi An as an example, buildings in there have gain reputation of being similarly constructed. If several owners did not follow that style, the unique about Hoi An cannot have existed. Moreover, a huge amount of emission may be released into the environment due to free construction. Environment has been one of the biggest concerns of humans and it is also a duty of people to preserve and develop a sustainable environment. To recapitulate, whereas little control over citizens’ construction has a couple of disadvantages, I am subscribed to the idea that the benefits of this outweight former.