Some think that these environmental problems are too big for individuals to be solved, while others think that governments cannot solve these environmental problems unless individuals take some action. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people hold the opinion that individuals on their own cannot do much to protect the environment, while it is believed by others say that even governments can make a difference only with the active support of people. This essay shall discuss both views. I believe that while there are some environmental areas in which government intervention is paramount, I also believe that in some areas individuals must lead the way. There are many reasons why some people say that people cannot do anything for the environment. The first reason is the lack of professional knowledge needed to cope with serious environmental issues like soil erosion and salinity, which require a significant amount of investigation and research. Secondly, when an environmental emergency or accident happens such as an oil spill near the border line, only government action or international coordination is required. On the other hand, those who say that even governments cannot do anything unless individuals cooperate, give their reasons as follows. Firstly, if government enacts laws for the betterment of the environment, and individuals do not cooperate, then there would be no results. For example, in India, there is a strict ban on the use of single use plastics, but people are still using them. So, the involvement of people is imperative for any government action to be useful. I believe that individual actions, small as they may be, can prove very effective. For example, people can avoid driving the car, and take public transport, walk, or bicycle instead. This will reduce the use of fossil fuels and cut pollution. So, individual action can never be overstated. However, there are steps which can only be taken by the government. For example, protection of wildlife and forests, implementing strict punishment for violators of environmental laws and signing international treaties regarding environment. In these aspects the governments must show the way and individuals should support the government. In conclusion, when it comes to environmental problems, individual actions are indispensable in the problem-solving process. But the most pressing and complicated problems go far beyond an individual's capability and so require the effort of the government.