Environmental problems such as pollution and climatic variations are increasing nowadays. The governments have taken some measures at a global level. But they got only few solutions. Why is it so? How can this problem be solved?

Saving the environment has become the top priority across the world. However, the measures taken have not been enough to address the issue. This essay intends to look into why the measures have always fallen short of the mark, and suggest some solutions to mitigate the problem. Many reasons can be attributed for the failure of governments in finding solutions. The first and foremost reason is the difficulty in balancing the economic development and environmental protection. It is irrefutable that steps taken for the protection of the environment have some sort of adverse effect on the economy, albeit little. For instance, although solar power is renewable and non-polluting it is still considerably costlier than thermal power. This is a major reason why the world hasn’t already shifted towards solar power completely. Secondly, there is the problem of consensus when it comes to global issues. For some countries environmental issues are not so high on the priority list and for others it is critical. For example the island nations of Pacific have been the biggest champions of environmental treaties because their very survival is at stake with global warming and consequently sea level rise. On the other hand, there are some countries like the Arctic countries, which might be benefited from global warming as it may lead to an increase in the growing season. Solutions to environmental issues are not straightforward first because of the very magnitude of the problem and also for the reasons cited above. It requires a change in outlook towards environmental issues. Just as pollution is not bound by political boundaries, in the same way our solutions cannot be in silos. The world truly needs to come together as one to tackle this issue. Countries have to make compromises, for instance rich countries have to help developing countries with technology and financial aid. Developing countries also must balance their growth, keeping the environment in mind. To sum up, it can be seen clearly, why the steps taken so far have failed to save the environment. However, the time has come to do some soul-searching and take proactive steps for the environment.