People are encouraged to get rid of things in order to get the newest fashion and the latest technology. Do the disadvantages of a throwaway society outweigh the economic advantages?

It is irrefutable that more and more people prefer buying new things rather than getting their old products repaired. While this craze for novelty or the latest products and fashion has some advantages, its drawbacks certainly outweigh them. Admittedly, there are some benefits of consumerism. Firstly, consumerism leads to mass production, and mass manufacturing leads to mass employment. This is undoubtedly beneficial for the overall economy of the country. Secondly, consumerism leads to innovation. In other words, manufacturers are under constant pressure to innovate as people are consistently looking for the newer product or service. However, despite the advantages, I consider consumerism to be a very detrimental trend. The main drawback is that consumerism leads to environmental degradation. The increasing demand for goods leads to increase in use of natural resources and energy consumption and this further leads to increase in pollution and waste. Another major disadvantage is the increase in the debt levels. A large number of people today are taking short loans for buying luxuries or things they can live without. In addition, consumerism is changing society’s value system with people shifting towards materialism and competition over integrity. People want to buy things they do not need so that they can stay above others. Finally, consumerism also has a negative effect on relationships as it forces people to work harder and spend less time with loved ones. In the long run, the love for materialistic things can never compete with satisfaction people achieve from relationships. Thus, most people despite being richer and having more luxuries are less happier than before. To sum up, although consumerism does have economic benefits, I consider it to be a degeneration of our society.