Some people think that giving aid to the poor countries has more negative impacts than positive ones. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed by some that helping the poor nations has more detrimental effects than benefits. I believe that while there are a few negatives of helping the impoverished nations, the advantages are far more. Admittedly, a major negative effect is that poor countries could become over dependent and stop making efforts of their own. This would halt the long term progress of the poor countries. Secondly, the aid given by rich countries could go into corrupt hands and not reach those for whom it was meant for. Then, the aid may not be that useful. For example, the people’s need may be clothes and food but the aid may be in the form of making a bridge or something like that which people may not need. Finally, the rich countries may have their own selfish motives behind giving aid. For instance, they may provide employment but they may be underpaying and exploiting the poor. However, the advantages of the rich countries helping the poor are manifold. To begin with, nowadays we belong to a global village and all countries are so interconnected that all problems that arise because of poverty – crime, terrorism and diseases will directly or indirectly affect the rich countries. It is a well-known fact that terrorists can infiltrate the rich countries and cause violence and crime there. Moreover, if poor countries suffer diseases then these diseases can spread to the neighbouring rich countries. So, it can be said that it is a necessity for the rich to save the poor in order to save themselves. It has been well said by John F Kennedy that “if a free society cannot help the many who are poor, it cannot save the few who are rich”. Furthermore, there are many problems which the world is facing today, such as global warming, which can be solved by joint efforts of all countries. Such joint efforts can only be possible if the gap between the rich and poor is narrowed. This can only be achieved if the haves help the have-nots. Finally, the rich countries also have a moral duty to help the poor. They should help them on humanitarian grounds. To conclude, I reiterate by saying that the rich must help the poor. However, it must be well researched first as to what sort of help is most needed. Help can be provided in the form of food, medicine and education.