Some people think that government should not give international aid if they have disadvantaged people like unemployed and homeless in their own country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that the governments should not give aid to poor countries if there are underprivileged people within their own country. I believe that the developing and developed countries should always step forward to help the impoverished countries. The main reason why countries should give aid is that international aid not only helps the recipient country, but also the donor country. In other words, as poor countries develop through aid, it fosters international trade. This creates higher demand for products made in the rich countries, which improves the economy of rich countries by creating jobs. So, homelessness and unemployment of donor country is also addressed. Secondly, international aid is not only given to reduce poverty, but also to improve the country ’s own security. By giving aid, the economic condition of the poor countries improves and so the conditions that promote terrorism, such as poverty, unemployment and corruption are removed. So, this aid promotes peace and stability in the whole world. Finally, giving aid adds to the power and influence of the rich countries. Today, the status in the world is not based on military strength, but on relationships with other countries. This aid is accompanied by development of people-to-people contacts between the two countries and raises the image of that country in the eyes of the people of the recipient country. For example, recently, the United Nations HR commission’s chairman had to be elected, and an Indian was elected because of the soft power that India has. To sum up, I reiterate my opinion saying that all countries should help by giving foreign aid even if there are problems of unemployment and homelessness within them.