Some people think that too much money has been spent looking after and repairing old buildings, so we should knock down old buildings and build modern ones instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that money is spent too much on taking care of and fixing buildings that were built for a long time, so we must demolish those buildings and build others that are modern. Personally, I partly disagree with this statement for the following reasons. Firstly, destroying old buildings to build others that are much more modern can affect countries’ cultural value. Because some buildings that were built for a long time bring various values, therefore, when people demolish some of the old buildings, they also destroy the values that buildings bring to the society. However, some ancient buildings which have value are run down seriously, so people must repair them but still have to keep their character. For instance, in Vietnam there are a lot of ancient buildings that have cultural value, but some of them are run down, so the local government decided to fix them but still retain their values. Secondly, some old buildings are abandoned and run down after a long time without being used. This not only affects the landscape of those areas, but also affects people’ safety. When the buildings aren’t used for a long time, its construction may be too old, therefore it can collapse and make people around there injured. Furthermore, some old buildings have neither architectural nor cultural value, so those buildings should be converted into modern ones, instead of renovating them. In conclusion, knocking down the old buildings and building modern ones depend on which buildings they are, because some of them are countries’ symbols.