The spread of a ‘global language’ such as English will threaten national languages. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Some argue that the spread of a 'global language ' like English will threaten national languages. This essay agrees with the statement. This essay expounds the causes of this argument and also explains the conclusions with some illustrations. On the one hand,the wide use of a global language offers many great benefits that will never be achieved by a national language. A global language not only helps in understanding different cultures of people but also promote unity among communities of diverse cultural backgrounds. For example, this understanding actually helps in overcoming the language barrier among different nations living in different parts of the world. No doubt, English actually helps in acceptance of the unique cultural heritage that comes from different beliefs and traditions. Although, some people assert that English is widely recognised language and can prohibit the use of native tongues like french, urdu, punjabi, spanish etc., that can ultimately lead to extinction of traditional languages. For instance,the next generation of bilingual language speakers can lose proficiency in speaking their traditional language, the national languages will die out gradually and become extinct in the near future. There is no doubt that losing proficiency in national language can eventually risk the future of the native tongue. In conclusion, I believe that the preservation of tradition is equally important for mainting the diversity of various communities. Some effective measures should be taken by government of different countries to promote their unique culture.