Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What do you think are the reasons for this? Do the advantages of the trend outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent decades, more and more individuals decide to delay their parenthood. Statistics show that the average age for parenthood rose to 30, nine years older than it was in 1970. The major reasons behind this trend are the increasing living costs, social changes, and personal hobbies. Even though a child later in life can lead to increased health risk for the woman and the baby, older parents are more financially stable and emotionally prepared which allows their children to properly grow physically and mentally. Living prices have risen dramatically over the years, and having a kid is highly expensive, causing young couples to be hesitant. A child comes with an infinite number of additional costs, including medical, educational, and fundamental human requirements. These are costs that many young people cannot afford. Having a child necessitates a significant amount of personal time as well. A parent must devote time to caring for their infant, feeding them and cleaning up after them. A lot of young couples might not have the time required now that society has changed. Unlike society back in the early 20th century where people became parents at a much earlier age, every person now has to go to work, get higher education, and many other duties. Not only do young people need to fulfill their duties, they also need to satisfy their personal needs, such as traveling the world, focusing on their education, and working towards their career to improve their financial status. These are the main factors that encourage people to become parents at a later age in life. Having children at an older age comes with both disadvantages and advantages. Giving birth at an older age increases the chance of miscarriage, which is harmful for the woman’s health afterwards. According to doctors, among women who are 35 or older, the rate of stillbirth is 5.8 per 1000 newborns. The baby also has a chance of a lighter birth weight, more abnormalities associated with chromosomes, and other negative outcomes. Despite the health concerns, later parental age comes with many advantages. It is proven that older parents are more economically free and educated. The reason being they had the chance to focus on their education and careers when they were young without having a child to hinder them from those activities. Being more financially stable and emotionally prepared are fundamental to the development of their child. For instance, with more economic freedom, the parents can be able to afford healthy foods and good medical products which ensures the child ’s physical growth and health. They can also give their kids more educational experiences at a young age, such as letting them travel to different places in the world and giving them access to good schooling. This allows the child to develop mentally and intelligently and unlock more opportunities in their future. In essence, ​the main causes behind delayed parenthood are rising living costs, social changes, and personal interests. Even while having a child later in life increases the woman's and the baby's health risks, older parents are more financially stable and emotionally prepared, allowing their children to thrive physically and psychologically.