The spread of a ‘global language’ such as English will threaten national languages. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

English is now used by the majority of countries in the world in their daily conversation. Having taken other solutions into consideration, I agree that international languages could impact local languages. Firstly, the internet invention is one of the reasons behind, much information can easily be accessed and is mostly in English. Therefore, English become an important language skill to have and parents have encouraged their children to expert this since in golden age. By teaching children from a young age, making them more fluent in English and giving them a competitive advantage in the future. However, some problems may occur, taking the extinction of the local language as an example. Many schools in Indonesia currently deliver courses in English and they abolished a local language such as Sundanese from the curriculum. Secondly, the government does not prioritize local language as an intangible asset of a country and makes little effort to protect it. As a result, many young generations are not aware of their origin as well as their ancestors' culture and are more familiar with Western culture. One of the actions that may help the existence of a national language is using it every day as their daily communication. Nevertheless, many people in big cities prefer to enrol their kids on International Schools, which is English as their main language every day. To illustrate, in Jakarta, many International Schools were built and all the modules were learned in English. Consequently, many student graduates from this school can not speak the Indonesian language very well. In conclusion, using English as their main language also could lead to the extinction of the national language. Therefore, I remain firmly convinced that I agree that global language could endanger the national language.