The tendency of human being to copy one another is shown in the popularity of fashion clothes and consumer goods. To what extent do you agree?

People have a habit of following one another as can be seen in fashion clothes and used home products. I completely agree with this statement. I will discuss the reasons why I think of it that way and also what is the disadvantage of it in this essay. First, individuals have that tendency because they are afraid to be in the wrong. It is something that has been around for ages and a lot of research has been done to prove this fact. For example, some scientists did some experiments by asking an individual what is the answer of 1+1, which the result obviously 2. The twist within this experiment was that the people surrounding that person were saying the answer was 3 rather than 2. In the end, that research subject changed his result to 3 just to follow the majority. Second, society has the fear of missing out, it is also widely known as FOMO. It is a term where the crowds just follow the current trend of those near them. It is not necessarily bad, but the thought of just going with the flow without any reasonable reason behind it is something unsafe as it could be a dangerous trend. It is clear that the disadvantage is the flock will just follow blindly without thinking about the consequences. I have seen people lose a lot of money just to follow the trend and satisfy those who were near them. Thus, the crowd need to pay extra attention to the cost. In summary, human beings are a copycat of one another. It is not something that could be considered fully bad as it could be a good development as well, for example, the tendency to do charitable work. However, individuals need to filter what to follow and what not.