Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past 30 years that many cities in the world are now “one big traffic jam”. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can government take to discourage people from using their cars?

Traffic has increased from several decades due to the advancement of the technology because all type of vehicles are easily available at low prices which attract the public's interest. I am agree with the statement that enormous numbers of vehicles causes traffic jam on daily basis and creates different kinds of problems. To begin with, carbon monoxide and carbon dioxide produced by the vehicles are the main cause of pollution which depletes ozone layer and put adverse impacts on the health of human beings. It devastates the environment and atmosphere. Moreover, traffic is bumper to bumper due to the convenient transportation system thus, people have access to sit in their cars with comfort and travel the world. Majority of the people travel alone and create congestion on the roads. For instance, as per 'Bombay News' millions of vehicles runs on the roads which is a topic of concern which causes delay on the roads. The higher authorities should take some actions to devalue the traffic congestions. Firstly, government should encourage prople use cycle if they want to travel alone locally. This will be proven as good exercise for them and assist them to maintain good health. As cycles are eco - friendly source of transport which will improve the condition of environment and not cause further damage. Furthermore, more lanes should be constructed on the highways which can only be used by more than one individuals who travel in the same car. Thus, masses never be late for their work because they will have access to super fast lane. To conclude, it is responsible of all the citizens not to create traffic jams due to their impaired driving which will lead them accidents. The government should implement new rules for the wellfare of the public and it will be possible with joint efforts.