Write about the following topic: A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the present days, social status and wealth becomes the success parameter as rich people and high-ranked individuals are more andmired. This makes human values such as trustworthiness, friendliness, and honour to be less appreciated. In this brief essay, I will describe how things have happened resulting to this phenomenon. The first thing that has caused this is the wrong education given by parents and schools. In Indonesia children are taught to study hard to be parts of the governmental apparatus in the future instead of pursuing their own dreams. For example, I still remember when I graduated from an informal school back in the elementary days, a friend of mine wrote in his graduation book that his dream was to become a civil servant while others dreamed to become football players or detectives. The poor child had to be taught by his environment as it was impossible for children in the same age to have the thought to work for money with the government. The second cause of this incident is the rise of social media. It has become a platform for people to show their superficial story, usually only the good ones, in order to be appreciated by others. Over time, the life of a successful person on social media has become a new standard for others to live the same life. With more accessible internet and devices, nowadays social media usage can even be seen in children and they would copy things that others do as shown on their phone screens. Unfortunately, life ethics are tought not as much as glamorous life on the media. As it becomes a daily consumption, people would be more individualistic to achieve “success” defined by others. To sum up, that a person judged according to social status and material possessions is not due to nothing. Misleading education and increased social media usage are possible causes on why people would try to chase wealth and positions instead of basic values.