Some people think scientific research should focus on solving world health problems. Others think that there are more important issues. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is believed that scientific research should place emphasis on addressing global health issues; however, some opponents argue that there are more pressing problems. While it is true that the prime mission of research is to improve human health, there are more compelling reasons why studying other issues can also contribute to global well-being. On the one hand, there are a few reasons why dealing with global health concerns should be given adequate attention. First of all, outbreaks of infectious diseases can threaten the lives of many people around the world. If scientists dedicate more time and effort to researching, the government can better prevent, detect and respond to such fatal diseases. Moreover, global health problems also affect international trading and the national economy. For example, in the case of COVID-19, many nations reached the brink of recession. Without urgent scientific research for its vaccines and medication, this pandemic may threaten the physical and financial well-being of millions of global citizens. However, other environmental and economic problems should be prioritized because they are determinants of international health issues as well. In terms of the environment, many alarming issues such as global warming, pollution, and deforestation have led to severe weather, global famine, and the spread of various diseases. Therefore, using science to find the causes and solutions of such problems should be the top priority. In addition, economic issues such as poverty or inflation result in poor living conditions, lack of healthcare accessibility, and resources for healthcare advancements. Tackling these serious issues by intensive studies may act as a pre-emptive measure against health crises. In conclusion, although it is reasonable to attach importance to health research, my conviction is that there are more critical environmental and economic issues which require scientific research.