Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory partofhigh school programmes To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often thought that unpaid community service is better to be mandatory for high school students. I completely agree with this opinion and believe that making the program compulsory will bring many benefits to them. First of all, I trust that unpaid community works help the student to gain soft skills needed for their personal growth. As the academic activities in schools such as class-taught sessions are focused on hard skills and academic objectives, mandatory community services push all students to complete their profile with better empathy, understanding, and social awareness through the experience. Besides the skillset being beneficial for their future careers, making the activity obligatory will make sure none of them is left behind with only course-related knowledge with no exposure to surrounding society in real life. For instance, by taking part in the local park cleaning project, high school students would appreciate the role of public spaces as well as gain more discipline and teamwork by working with other people. That's why those programs should be implemented in high school programs. Secondly, it brings student from diverse backgrounds together and strengthens their connection within the community. As the program is part of the curriculum for every high school, students are very likely to meet another student and are encouraged to collaborate in achieving the same goals in their work. On the side of the student-student relationship, community service also introduces them to community members with different ages, occupations, and characteristics that would help them learn to respect and navigate their role toward a more inclusive and harmonious society. With the same example, interacting with fellow students in the cleaning project, the families and kids, and different kinds of park visitors will make them socialize smoothly while not focused on the compensation because the work is unpaid. In conclusion, integrating unpaid community services into part of students ' learning journey in high school is better. It enriches students with soft skills and teaches them to actively make a positive impact in the diverse society.