Some people prefer to do most of their shopping online. This has both positive and negative effects for individuals, businesses and society. Are there more advantages or more disadvantages of online shopping?

These days, people are more likely to do shopping online rather than to do it in the local shop. Some people argue that this kind of trend has positive and negative impacts, not only for individuals but also for society and businesses. Therefore, this essay will discuss both sides of shopping online. It is undeniable that online shopping has become the most favorite thing to do with current generations, since it is more convenient for some people to do shopping everywhere and everytime as the only platform that they need is social media; a bunch of applications that can be accessed from our phone. This trend leads to the widening of selling opportunities for everyone, particularly those who cannot afford to rent or buy any building or place to open their shop. In addition to this, people tend to sell their products at a lower price because they do not have any obligations to pay the building tax, which resulting Change the form of the verb results show examples in the increase in the number of buyers. On the other hand, the tendency to buy things online surely affects the merchants who sell their things in the marketplace. Take the latest trend in Indonesia as an example, in 2023, local market sellers boycotted TikTok Shop, an e-commerce platform that sells things at much cheaper prices. This trend prompted anger from the sellers due to the decrease in their revenue because fewer people came to their shops to buy their goods. To sum up, although shopping online has a positive side such as the chance to start a new job is increasing for many people, the negative side should not be neglected by the governments. Hence, proper online shopping regulations should be made to cover the drawbacks of this matter.